One Day National Conference on Contribution for Political Thinkers in Indian Freedom Struggle held at Aggarwal College Ballabgarh

One Day National Conference on Contribution of Political Thinkers in Indian Freedom Struggle (NCCPTIFD-2023) was successfully organized by the Department of Political Science, Aggarwal College Ballabgarh on May 1, 2023. The conference was approved by the Director General Higher Education, Haryana, and was attended by over 62 research scholars, thinkers, academicians, and educationists from all over the country.

The conference aimed to recognize and commend the contributions of political thinkers and participants in the Indian Independence Movement, including notable figures such as Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Savarkar, Raja Rammohan Roy, Lohia, Vivekananda, Pandita Ramabai, and Ambedkar, and to commemorate Azaadi ka Amrit Kaal. The conference also sought to provide a platform for academicians and experts to discuss the contribution of political thinkers in the Indian freedom struggle and to understand Indian history, gain inspiration, develop critical thinking skills, and strengthen democracy.

In the Inauguration Ceremony of the Conference, Dr. Krishan Kant, the Principal, and Chairperson of the Conference, welcomed all the dignitaries and informed about the achievements of the college. Dr. Satish Ahuja, Director, DAV Institute of Management, Faridabad, was the Chief Guest of the ceremony, who stated that studying the contribution of political thinkers in the Indian freedom struggle helps us understand our country's history and how it has shaped our present. He eloquently described the seven different forms of Goddess Saraswati as water, bani, time, word, music, knowledge and eloquence. He praised the fact that Aggarwal College is blessed with all seven of these qualities. Motto of his talk is "keep going, keep moving forward".

Dr. Charu Mathur, Associate Professor, Atma Ram Sanatan Dharma College, University of Delhi, was the keynote speaker, who emphasized that the ideas and principles espoused by the political thinkers of the freedom struggle continue to inspire people today. She gave a student orientated talk on ancient, mediaeval and modern Indian school of thought. She talked about the chanakyaniti, manusmriti etc. She praised Rajaram Mohan Roy, Maharishi Dayanand, Swami Vivekananda, Jyotirao Phule, Dr.Bhimrao Ambedkar, Pandita Ramabai for their contribution in the upliftment of women and the abolitior of the caste system.

The theme and objectives of the conference were presented by Dr. Ritu, Convener of the Conference, who highlighted that political theorists made a significant contribution to the movement for Indian independence. The first technical session was chaired by Dr. Rani Sangwan, Associate Professor, Saraswati Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Palwal, and the invited talk was delivered by Dr. Nirmala Singh, Professor, Banasthali Vidyapith, Rajasthan, who elaborated on the contribution of Mahatma Gandhi and other political thinkers in the Indian freedom struggle.

The second technical session was chaired by Dr. Rajkumar, Shyama Prasad Mukherjee College, University of Delhi, and the invited speaker was Prof. Radhika Kumar, Motilal Nehru College, University of Delhi, who talked about the role of Jawaharlal Nehru in the Indian freedom struggle. The proceedings of the conference were released in the inaugural ceremony in the presence of experts and academicians from various institutes.

In the valedictory session, Dr. Krishan Kant was the chairperson, and Dr. Rajkumar was the Chief Guest of the Conference, who expressed his views on the role of political thinkers in the Indian freedom struggle.

The National Conference on Contribution of Political Thinkers in Indian Freedom Struggle was a great success in honoring the ideals of Indian political thinkers, glorifying the contribution of our freedom fighters, and commemorating Azaadi ka Amrit Kaal.

The summary of the conference was presented by Secretary Anita Kundu. Students and spokespersons from other colleges also appreciated the conference and gave their feedbacks. The programme was concluded with the Kalyan Mantra. Stage operations and a vote of thanks was expressed by Dr. Supriya Dhanda as the programme coordinator. Dr. Ritu as a Convener, Dr. Ram Chander as Coconvener, Ms. Udita as an organizing secretary, Ms. Kamal Tandon, Dr. K.L Kaushik, Dr. Manoj Shukla, Dr. Naresh Kamra, Dr. Pooja Saini, Dr. Devender, Mr. Subhash, Mr. Lovekesh, Ms. Shelly Malik and others provided special cooperation for making this conference successful.