Press Release

The Chemical society, Department of Chemistry, Aggarwal College, Ballabgarh celebrated "Mendeleev Memorial Day" on 8th Feb., 2024, in the college premisesunder the able guidance of Officiating PrincipalDr. Sanjeev Kumar Gupta, in order to commemorate the scientific contribution of an avid chemist, Dmitri Mendeleev, which led to the origin of Periodic Table of Chemical Elements. This occasion was graced by the auspicious presence of Chief Guest, Sh. **Devender Kumar Gupta**, Honorable Chairman, AVPS & President, Aggarwal College Governing Body&Guest of Honor, Sh. Dinesh Gupta, General Secretary, Aggarwal College Governing Body. On this occasion a large number of events including Science Exhibition, Cultural Program and Guest Lecture on 'Science for Society" was organized. The guest lecture was delivered by Prof. Rajesh Punia, Proctor & Head, Deptartment of Physics, M.D.U., Rohtak. In-charge, Department of Chemistry, Dr. Priyanka Sehrawat welcomed the guests and introduced the invited speaker to the students. A group of 124science students of class XII from Aggarwal Public School, Sector- 3 came to view the exhibition held at the Department of Chemistry and all of them were very excited to see the science models on practical problems. Honorable Chief Guest, Sh. Devender Kumar Guptadelivered his speech to motivate the students about contribution of science students towards the development of society and he clearly stated that it is impossible for a country to move forward without the contribution of scientists. Guest of Honor, Sh. Dinesh Gupta also created a general awareness among all the students about the miracles of science. The overwhelming response from the guests and attendees proved the success of this event. All the staff of Chemistry and PhysicsDepartment including teachingviz. Dr. Archana Chauhan, Dr. Devender, Dr. Rahul, Dr. Priyanka Kundu, Dr. Jyoti Yadav, Dr. Sapna Tyagi, Ms. Mansi Tyagi, Ms. Geeta Rathi, Ms. Preeti, Mr. Chander Attri and non-teaching Mr. Pramod Kumar, Mr. Sushil Kumar, and Mr. Vishal Tyagi contributed a lot as a team for the entire success of this event. The students Bhavna, Lalit & Surender of class M.Sc. (P) got the first prize for their model on Carbon Capture & Storage. The students Manvi, Rohit & Pankaj of class B. Sc. 3rd year Chem (H), for their model on Quantum Dots, got the second prize. The third prize went to Rashmi, Deepti & Kalpana of class M.Sc. (F) for their model on Water Purification using Corn Cobs.Consolation prizes were given to Deepika and Dollyfor their model on Best out of plastic waste and to Bhawna, Bhawna Vaishnav, Soniya for their model

on Water Purification using Nanotechnology. The program ended with the vote of thanks by the convener and In-charge, Dept. of Chem., Dr. Priyanka Sehrawat.